SEXY:Jada Pinkett Smith Covers ‘Essence’ Nude

Actress and mother of three Jada Pinkett Smith stripped down to the buff for the July 2010 cover of Essence. The actress approached the magazine with the idea for the shoot with a desire to teach her 9-year-old daughter Willow, about positive body image and embracing her skin tone.

Excerpts from the story:

Jada on her flaws
“We, as women, have to love ourselves. Whatever you look like, you better be comfortable with it. … All my life black men have told me how flawed I am. People may look at that picture and not necessarily be able to identify my woes about my own body, but I have them. It’s just that I’ve gotten to the point where I’m like, ‘This is me’ and I embrace that. I’m getting older. I’ve got wrinkles in my face that I didn’t before, but it’s my face!”

Jada on self-love
“Do you love what you see when you look in the mirror? Because I bet that if you love it authentically, everybody else around you will. They won’t even have a chance to see anything else, because you will have a shield of confidence around you. That is a powerful gift that God gives us that most of us rarely use.”

Jada on posing nude
“When I walked out there and disrobed, I felt like a queen. I felt like the world was mine. Like there was this power just emanating from my person. Like there was nothing I couldn’t do.”

OK! I guess empowering nudity is what we’re on now (cues Erykah Badu’s “window seat”.

After Jada appeared on Oprah in May the rumors resurfaced that she had plastic surgery — some folks questioning if she is pro body image then why get surgery.  She looks great either way!

For those Essence readers that don’t feel like seeing Jada naked on their coffee tables, the magazine shot and alternate cover:

The issue hits newsstands this Friday, June 11th (same day as the release of her son Jaden’s movie “Karate Kid” ).

What do you think of the two covers?

No Responses to “SEXY:Jada Pinkett Smith Covers ‘Essence’ Nude”

Leave a Reply

