Cee-Lo On Returning To Rap


These days, Cee-Lo’s been belting more tunes more rhymes. While discussing his feature on Rozay’s “Tears Of Joy”, the Lady Killer explains why he’s getting back to rap on The Goodie Mob reunion album.

“When people be asking why I don’t rap no more, it’s not that. … It’s gotta come. I’mma isolate that to the Goodie Mob. That’s all I care to rap about. Rappin’ is like a contact sport. It’s an attitude. So the only thing I get angry about is the calls [about me not rapping]. That makes me wanna fight. As far as somebody stepping on my shoes, because we standing too close to each other, I don’t have that problem. Nobody does what I do. I don’t have no conflict. So I can do what eases my mind. I do believe that music is not meant to agitate; it’s meant to soothe the savage beast. I’m one of them beasts. It soothes me. I’m impressed, because I can separate myself from it and give credit to a higher power. It ain’t really me. To be able to sing is a blessing to me. But really, you hurt so bad, sometimes I can’t even rap about it. I gotta sing. That’s why it always hurts a little bit no matter what I’m singing. There’s pain in it. As far as Goodie goes, I got that. That’s all I’m trying to tell y’all.”

Vodpod videos no longer available.

 

No Responses to “Cee-Lo On Returning To Rap”

Leave a Reply

